If You’re Happy and You Know It, Clap Your Hands

I woke up humming that song from my childhood the other day. I have no idea why. And then I started thinking about the lyrics. It’s been my experience that it’s never a good idea to examine the lyrics from childhood too closely. (If you know the true meaning behind Ring Around the Rosie, for example, and you aren’t totally creeped out by it, you have no soul.)

But think about it. “If you’re happy and you know it”? Are there scenarios in which you could be happy and not know it? If so, what a pity. I’d like to always know when I’m happy so I can savor the feeling and appreciate it.

But if there are moments when you are happy and you don’t know it, I guess by definition you’d never know that. Which makes you wonder about your awareness in general. Then you have to wonder if there’s any way to improve upon that awareness.

Oh, my head hurts.

But I’ve got you singing that song now, haven’t I? 🙂

if youre happy

[Image credit: planetgreenrecycle.com]

Start a gratitude practice today. Read my book. http://amzn.to/2cCHgUu

13 thoughts on “If You’re Happy and You Know It, Clap Your Hands

  1. KerikM

    Seems that the “Ring around the Rosie” thing is apocryphal. Just read that in a couple of places recently, but forgot where. Don’t get me started on the things they fob off on kids, back when I was one, anyway.

Leave a Reply

