The Little Things

On my drive to work today I got tears in my eyes; tears of gratitude. I came around a curve and saw a tree with flaming red leaves. You don’t see too many trees whose leaves change in the fall in this Emerald City of Seattle, but you see enough. Enough to make you appreciate them even all the more. I am back in a place where leaves change color! I can’t explain how much that means to someone who hasn’t seen it in 30 years.

There are so many other things here that bring me back to the climate of my childhood. Moss. Rocks. The smell of rich, dark earth. Soft grass. Water that actually tastes good. It’s all so precious to me. Priceless, because it took so much for me to get to this place of abundance. So forgive me for being maudlin, but tears are bound to flow.

Here are a few more pictures of little things that have made my heart squeeze.

IMG_0374

Plants that I’ve never seen before.

IMG_0385

Sunlight sparkling through crystal clear rippling water onto smooth stones.

IMG_0370

A large snail in a city lake.

Abundance is mine!

6 thoughts on “The Little Things

  1. Carole

    As I was standing at the top of the Capitol Steps in Nashville the other day we could look around the whole city and it was just beautiful. I thought about you and challenges faced and believe it or not, I said to my self, I bet Barb is beside herself with all the colors of fall. In FL you are so fortunate to have flowers all year long. I miss that, but the changing of the leaves is Nature’s changing of the guard, slothing off the old clothes of the season past and preparing for the incubation and rebirth of an new cycle of life. Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

