Union Dues

For the first time in my life I’m a member of an effective union, and holy crap, what a difference it’s making in my life! I’ve actually got a living wage and can look forward to raises. I have decent health insurance for the first time in well over a decade. I have retirement. Retirement! I can’t even imagine. And believe me, that’s just the tip of the benefit iceberg.

I actually know several people who have bought into the whole Republican propaganda machine and therefore resent unions. That always kind of amuses me, because they would be the first people to squawk if they had to work more than 40 hours a week, 8 hours a day, or if child labor came back, or if they were in sweat shops. They have unions to thank for their excellent working conditions, and yet they disapprove of them.

I’m assuming these people think that employers are going to treat their employees decently as a matter of principle. Unfortunately, this has never been demonstrated to me. I’ve been working since I was 10 years old, and I’ve held 23 different jobs. What this has taught me is that greed will always prevail. Power always corrupts.

Yes, unions can take advantage of their power as well. Some of their benefits are a bit over the top. Yesterday I worked 12 straight hours, and because of that I was entitled to have my dinner reimbursed. I felt a little guilty as I turned in my receipt for coconut crusted prawns, top sirloin with mashed potatoes and broccoli, and salted caramel vanilla crunch cake. But you know what? I guarantee you that there isn’t a member of a board of directors anywhere in this country who hasn’t eaten even better, and I know I work harder than they do.

So unless you can wave your magic wand and come up with some way of making everyone behave fairly, I’ll continue to pay my dues and eat my prawns, thank you very much.

union

5 thoughts on “Union Dues

  1. Carole Lewis

    Oh yeah… I loved working for the Union. But here in Tn, if you mention UNION, you are apt to have your car keyed. (yes mine was, for some reason the camera wasn’t pointed there at the time). TN is a Right to Work State, which means you can quite a job for any reason and they can let you go for no reason. I think it boils down to If the communities believe enough in themselves to expect more. There have been companies that have locked their doors, and not told employees beforehand. Imagine going to work one morning and finding a sign saying.This Company is no longer operating. Contact Your State Employment Office.

    I am so happy you rose to the Challenge and made the move and swallowed every disappointment on your journey. Two Thumbs Up Barb, I am so proud of you. Now you can have your Cake, prawns, steak and eat it too!

Leave a Reply

