Danish Hygge

Perhaps it’s some long lost cultural memory implanted in my psyche, or maybe it’s just a normal part of being human, but I love to get all cozy. I like warm fuzzy slippers and evenings by the fire with friends. I like snuggling with my dogs in a warm bed when it’s raw and wet outside. I like getting lost deep in the stacks of my public library, surrounded by exciting dusty books, knowing that no one knows where I am. I like sitting around a campfire with a group of delightful people.

The Danes actually have a word for it: Hygge (pronounced hooglie), it is a very important part of their culture. I am ½ Danish, so I may come by this genetically. I have to say that any group that has a word for this feeling, cozy yet social, warm, cuddly, inviting… that is a group that I’m proud to be a part of.

Hav en hyggelig dag!

hygge

[Image credit: mnn.com]

3 thoughts on “Danish Hygge

Leave a Reply

