Lying with Confidence

A lot of guys do this thing that drives me absolutely up a wall. You ask a question. They answer without hesitation. They seem so sure of themselves. So you make a decision based on the information that was provided.

Later when everything blows up in your face, you find out that they didn’t know what the hell they were talking about. It wasn’t that they were convinced that they were right and they turned out to be wrong. No. They knew darned well that they were making a wild guess and they didn’t have a clue, but they still responded with aplomb.

Why, why, WHY would you do that? What is so wrong with saying, “I have no idea”? Do they have no concept of consequences? Or worse yet, do they get away with it often enough that it’s worth the risk? I don’t get it.

I know that men in general are raised to act with confidence, but is it so important to do so that it’s worth making a fool of yourself and losing the trust of those closest to you? I promise you that I have much more respect for someone who says “I don’t know” than for someone who bullshits his way through life causing no end of inconvenience to the people around him.

End of rant.

Confident-full

[Image credit: urban-fox.com]

9 thoughts on “Lying with Confidence

  1. I’ve found this to be almost exclusively a Man Thing. What really pisses me off is when a man (sorry, guys, but it’s always a man) says he knows something and I know he’s full of crap and call him on it. He will splutter and get all defensive and insist we do whatever it is HIS way. When it all falls apart and MY way proves to be the RIGHT way, well, then there’s hell to pay. Sigh. Grow up, people! If you don’t know, just say so. No harm, no foul. But if you waste my time with your posturing I WILL get angry. And probably get even eventually, too 🙂

      1. I was thinking of a specific instance when a guy I worked with got mad at me for being right about something and tried to get me fired. In the end, I pointed out to the boss that he was trying to steal clients and he got fired instead. Maybe the only time I actually got to see Karma in action 🙂

Leave a Reply

