Raise Your Head

I used to know someone who was so pessimistic that it was draining to be in his presence. I’m not exactly Little Mary Sunshine myself, but I do have a fundamental philosophical difference with that guy that we were never able to resolve. I believe your attitude can dictate your mood. He believes that you have no control over your mood whatsoever. He used to say, “I’m not going to paint a plastic smile on my face.” It made me want to slap the white off his teeth.

I really felt sorry for him. He constantly gave away his power. It was as if he was this helpless creature to whom happiness or sadness was bestowed, and he had no choice in the matter. It kind of makes you understand why some people make sacrifices to their higher power. If you have no control, the only thing you can do is cajole, flatter and beg. How exhausting.

In fairness, it must be much easier to keep your head firmly planted in your hind end like that. Then you don’t have to take any responsibility for the way your life turns out. But on the other hand, if you raise your head and look about you, you have the opportunity to see your situation in comparison with others who are worse off than you are. You have a chance to shift your focus. You learn how to solve problems, and most of all, you see the abundance that is spread before you.

This Thanksgiving, if at no other time, raise your head. Be grateful. Appreciate your unique life. Smile often. Who knows? It just might become a habit.

you-got-this

8 thoughts on “Raise Your Head

  1. Christina

    I have / had friends like that. They soon drift away because I staunchly refuse to pander to their victim-hood. I can’t help that about myself – I have survived some pretty horrible circumstances more than once, and I don’t have it in me to feel sorry for someone who refuses to try to improve their situation when they so easily could.

    Some people would say I’m heartless, but I actually feel very deeply for others. I just get frustrated when they refuse to help themselves, and that makes me come across as a little hostile because if I can pull myself up, then anyone can.

Leave a Reply

