My Second Blogiversary!

Would you believe that I’ve been writing this blog every day for the past two years? I’m stunned. I’m also thrilled. It went from being an effort to being a habit, and now it feels more like a lifestyle to me. When I don’t have at least 5 days of entries waiting in my queue, I feel uncomfortable. I’m a blogger. (Which is really kind of an amazing concept, since the term in this context didn’t even come into existence until I was 33 years old.)

And the popularity of this blog astounds me. Currently I have 345 followers. I had only 168 this time last year. I receive an average of 56 views per day, as compared with 35 last year. I have received a total of 5953 comments, which is a vast increase from last year’s 2,842. When I received my 30,000th view, I felt like I had won the lottery. Now I’m up to 41,944.

And people from 143 different countries have stopped by. Some first time visitors this year include Reunion, Swaziland, Kyrgyzstan, Montenegro, Kazakhstan, Azerbaijan, Fiji, Isle of Man, Afghanistan, Palestine, China, Tanzania, Syrian, Bhutan, Senegal and Yemen. Welcome! Check out my stats map from last year as compared to this year!

my-stats-_-wordpress-com-2013-11-15_08-24-12

Last Year.

My_Stats_—_WordPress.com_-_2014-11-30_12.49.49

This year.

I feel as if this blog has increased my confidence, improved my writing, and has added structure and a creative outlet for my life. I’m grateful for every single person who takes time out of his or her day to read it. I’m proud of this little thought experiment of mine, and I’m glad you are a part of it.

Thank you.

11 thoughts on “My Second Blogiversary!

  1. Elaine Lorefield

    I love hearing about Seattle and life and words and your dogs and the parks and museums. and I love hearing about a city that not only has 2 library systems, but people who use them.. both! you have entertained me and let me into your life.. thank you

  2. Juan Carlos García Romero.

    Muchas felicidades dos años se dice fácil pero es complicado (son 104 semanas, 730 días,17520 horas) pero lo verdaderamente impresionante son todas las reflexiones y ese dialogo constante entre ambas partes tu como escritora y nosotros como lectores y en ocasiones también nosotros formamos partes de ese dialogo que rebasa fronteras y nacionalidades. Felicidades.

Leave a Reply

