Ignorance is NOT Bliss

There are few things in life that annoy me as much as an intelligent female who acts stupid because she thinks it’s cute or expected of her. There are women in this world who think people will like them more if they avoid being seen as the smartest people in the room, which indicates to me that they probably aren’t the smartest people in the first place.

I suppose this behavior bugs me because I prize intelligence over just about anything else, and I can’t imagine giving that away. I also can’t imagine wanting to be in the company of someone who would prefer that I be less than who I truly am. And I would have a hard time respecting someone who would actually fall for an intelligent person who is dumbing herself down.

Ladies, there are plenty of people out there who are going to assume we’re not very bright just by virtue of your gender. If you doubt this, walk into 9 out of 10 mechanic’s garages and ask a question and see what happens. There’s no point in taking part in the reinforcement of that categorization by acting the fool.

If anything, being a strong, independent, intellectual woman means that you shoulder quite a bit of responsibility. Just by being in this world and interacting with others, you are setting an example of what women are capable of, and how they should be perceived and treated. Each day you are making a small impact, and chipping away at a stereotype. Future generations will benefit from the impression you make every single day. Whether you know it or not, you are blazing a trail. For God’s sake, do it with pride, dignity, and intelligence.

I-would-like-to-be-known-as-an-intelligent-woman-a-courages-woman-a-loving-woman-a-woman-who-teaches-by-being

[image credit: quotes-lover.com]

7 thoughts on “Ignorance is NOT Bliss

  1. Carole Lewis

    And might I add, You are not helpless when there is a man in the room. If you would do something if they weren’t around by golly do us all a favor and do it yourself. I’m 72 and work in a factory and if The position requires me to move or lift something I do it, I don’t wait on someone to come by and do it for me. I would not last long.

Leave a Reply

