My Favorite Things

When I was a child I used to drink Hawaiian Punch and Tang by the 50 gallon drum. Now I can’t stand the stuff. I also used to eat Cap’n Crunch straight out of the box as a snack. Ugh, the thought of that much sugar makes me feel slightly ill now.

No one is surprised when one’s tastes change from childhood, but until very recently it actually never occurred to me that my tastes could change as an adult as well. I had been clinging to my favorite things out of habit rather than preference. A change in perspective can change many things indeed.

For instance, my favorite fruit has always been the pomegranate. I used to wait for them to come in season with great anticipation. But then about a month ago I bought two and they are still sitting in the refrigerator. Pomegranates are messy and they take effort, and I find I just can’t be bothered. I actually think I prefer oranges these days.

I also have noticed I’m more drawn to the color red than to lilac, my lifelong default color. I don’t know which came first, the change in color or my change in personality, but there you have it. Red is now my favorite color.

Once it dawned on me that I could have new favorites, transformations have been cropping up left and right. I no longer like so much mustard on my hot dogs. I’m growing impatient with some types of music. I am much more in tune with my cravings.

It’s so easy to get into a rut or hibernate in a comfort zone. Take some time to question your choices. Listen to that inner voice. (Not the psychopathic one. The other one.) Shake things up. It’s actually quite liberating once you get the hang of it.

hawaiian-punch-button

5 thoughts on “My Favorite Things

Leave a Reply

