Good Old Dog

Have you ever noticed that dogs don’t slowly age? The transition always seems to be startlingly abrupt. One day they’re zooming around the yard, chasing squirrels, and the next day it’s as if they’ve been beaten with the aging stick overnight.

That’s what appears to have happened to my dog Devo this past month. Once rather vigorous, he now seems to be moving much more slowly. He’s stiff in the mornings, and slow to get started. He’s a lot less patient with his brother. His eyes have become watery. He’s eating less. And several times I’ve caught him standing in the middle of the back yard, apparently lost in thought, for what seems like an eternity to me.

He was a stray, so I can’t be certain how old he is. Somewhere between 9 and 11, I think. What I know for certain is that Devo and I have been through a lot together. He has often made me smile when nothing else could. He’s been there for me, and I will certainly be there for him for however long he has left. If that means additional trips to the vet and medication and extra care, I’ll do it happily.

I gazed at him last night in the darkness of my bedroom. He was ensconced on the pillow next to mine, tucked in all cozy and warm, snoring gently. How I treasure him. I vowed that I will cuddle with him even more these days, and I whispered into his ear, “Don’t leave me yet, my friend.”

img_2154

Sleepy Selfie

9 thoughts on “Good Old Dog

  1. Carole Lewis

    Oh the heart tugs. Our Roxie was bought home from college by Our Daughter 12 + yrs ago, and after several back and forth years, she has lived with us. And, this Summer she went from running circles around everything like a Pup to a gray haired old sage. She is dearly loved, mostly because she has adjusted to every other type of creature we have brought into the family. Most have moved on to their heavenly homes, But Roxie hangs on maybe to keep the new Kitten safe, and provide her company. I cannot imagine letting her go, though there have been many before. After she goes,it will be time to let the Kitten be our life’s closing companion. I cannot imagine going through life without a beautiful animal to share life’s treasured moments. They have gotten me through horrors and blessings, sickness and bursting energy days and sad and joyful times. When there were times no human could comfort, they have always been by my side, trusting, faithful, and with unquestioning Love.

    Special Thanks for this one Barb.

  2. It’s hard to see our beloved companions grow old, so much faster than us. I feel that way about my Sam. Treasure these last few years, months, days. He is a good looking dog.

  3. Elaine Lorefield

    I am the same about my cats.. I have had many and have gone more than the extra mile for several of them. I had one.. my Spike, who would only sleep on my left shoulder for the last few months of his life.. and while I never have slept well on my back, all that mattered was that Spike was as comfortable as he could be. I do think cats age a bit more subtly than dogs but there comes the time when they too are stiff and slow and just want to doze in the sun. I love the sweet picture you added.. give him a hug for me.

Leave a Reply

