We Don’t Need No Stinkin’ Sun

I have to admit that when I was contemplating my move from Florida to Seattle, I approached the whole concept with a certain level of trepidation. Everyone knows it rains all the time in Seattle. I mean, All. The. Time. I really didn’t know how I would cope. I’m already prone to depression. Would this push me over the edge?

Now that I’ve been in Seattle for 6 months, though, I realize it’s not that big of a deal. Yes, it rains all the time, but this isn’t Florida rain. It’s not frog-choking, gully-washing, break-out-your-rowboat-and-head-for-higher-ground rain. It’s more like a constant annoying mist. It’s not even worth putting on a raincoat most of the time.

What’s harder to take is the fact that during certain parts of the year it’s overcast and you can’t see the sun. But even then, the clouds occasionally break and let the sunshine in, and then you appreciate it even more. When the sun comes out I make an effort to go outside. I probably spend more time outdoors here than I ever did in Florida, where you could take the sun for granted. It also doesn’t hurt that you don’t get the oppressive 100 percent humidity and 100 plus temperatures here, either.

Truth be told, in Florida I worked graveyard shifts for 13 years, so I slept through most of the sun. Because of that, I probably see more sun in Seattle than I ever did in the Sunshine State, and that suits me just fine.

So, yeah, I take my Vitamin D, and occasionally I turn on my S.A.D. light, but for the most part, it’s all good. Don’t let the rain scare you away from this amazing city. Learn to see the beauty in the grey and appreciate all that this place has to offer.

Seattle

[Image credit: hdrcreme.com]

5 thoughts on “We Don’t Need No Stinkin’ Sun

Leave a Reply

