Passive Aggressive Stupidity

If you ask me, one of the most annoying habits on the planet is acting stupid when you aren’t. I see people do this all the time. Is it because you don’t want responsibility heaped upon you, or are you trying to manipulate someone into doing the heavy thinking for you?

I particularly want to shriek when I see women doing this. Many of us are taught that this behavior is cute or that somehow it will make us seem less threatening. You almost never hear a man described as silly or ditzy or flaky. It’s bad enough that this stereotype is so firmly embedded in our culture without our actively confirming it.

When I hear someone say that they’d never be able to learn something, my gut reaction is to say, “Don’t be ridiculous. Of course you can.” You may not want to take the time. You may not enjoy it. It’s possible that it will take more effort for you to grasp than it does for the person sitting beside you. But you are capable of learning anything. Anything.

So don’t get into the habit of inviting stupidity in when it’s not already present. Before you know it, it may just make itself at home.

Edith-Sitwell-Stupidity-Quotes

7 thoughts on “Passive Aggressive Stupidity

  1. Carole Lewis

    I aborh that type of people. You can see it coming when they are teenagers. Afraid their peers might disown them. I was never the brightest bulb in the chandelier, but I fought for every ounce of wattage I could muster. I can’t stomach women that get men to do things by appearing to be helpless. My last job in a factory, these couple women (At 30 they should be secure) would appear helpless and get help with a 10-20 lb box while I would be struggling to maneuver a car hood. I was 63. Of course I did not ask for help, ever. And, I have often lended a hand to these same women and men. But the dumbing down of self and country, needs to end and we need to THINK and DO.

  2. I’ve been saying this for years! I hate it when people but on an appearance of stupid just to get out of doing something. Especially women! We’ve fought so many years to show women aren’t stupid or flaky or whatever and these women are doing it on purpose! Grates on my nerves.

Leave a Reply

