Untapped Beauty

God, but I love the internet. It introduces me to things I didn’t previously know existed on an almost daily basis. There is so much in this world that can shock or amaze or awe.

Just the other day I happened to go to the Bing website and was presented with this gorgeous picture:

?????????????????????

Whoa. What is that? I’d never seen anything like it in my life. I naturally had to learn more about it. It turns out it’s the Chinese Lantern Fruit, more formally known as Physalis Alkekengi. When the fruit first forms, it’s covered by a papery husk that resembles a Chinese lantern as shown in this picture from Wikipedia:

220px-PhysalisAlkekengi-balloon

Hence the name. Over time, the husk dries out and becomes more filigreed, exposing the fruit to view.

Isn’t nature awesome? Such delicacy, such artistry. Such intense beauty. It leaves me speechless.

Upon further research though, I’ve decided I will never sample this fascinating fruit, because according to that same Wikipedia article, it’s used as a diuretic, antiseptic, liver corrective and sedative.

But I guess my whole reason for babbling on about this beautiful creation is that is makes me wonder what else is out there that is equally stunning that I’ve yet to discover. I get excited just thinking about the possibilities.

I don’t think there’s any better feeling in this world than that of being certain of future awe. (I need to invent a word for that.) It almost makes you look forward to the sound of your alarm clock, doesn’t it?

3 thoughts on “Untapped Beauty

  1. KerikM

    Today I was visiting a metal supply shop and they had a hydraulic shear that not only cut but automatically measured the piece first. A lot fancier than the ones I remember. Makes me (almost) wish I could still work. Samples of the output of a waterjet cutter were visible in the front office–like from a jigsaw, but amazingly intricate. 55k psi. Awesome all right.

Leave a Reply

