Spring!!!

Today is the first day of spring, and I couldn’t be more excited. You have to understand, I haven’t seen spring in 40 years. In Florida we had two seasons: Summer and January. So this is a huge deal for me.

Even the thought of breaking out a different set of clothes has me grinning like an idiot. And I love that things (including me) actually look different from one season to the next here. Maybe you take that for granted, but I gaze upon the blooming flowers where a few weeks ago there were none, and I see it as the natural miracle that it is.

I even ran out and bought a bunch of flowering plants and planted them in the yard of my rental house. And I hate yard work. I’m not sure my landlord will be thrilled that I’m digging holes in the yard, so mum’s the word. (Pardon the pun.)

And I made it through a winter! I had my doubts. (Especially when the heater died in my car.) The ever-shortening days felt ominous and unnatural to me.

But we’ve come out the other side! Joy! Life! Renewal! A visible marker of the passage of time! Is this what spring fever feels like? I’d forgotten. I feel like taking off my clothes and rolling naked amongst the tulips. And that’s a problem, because there’s a tulip festival in my near future…

daffodils

[Image credit: imgarcade.com]

5 thoughts on “Spring!!!

Leave a Reply

