Have a Little Faith

There are certain things that I long to hear from people that I care about.

  • I have faith in you.
  • I’m proud of you.
  • I trust you.
  • You can do it.
  • I appreciate you.
  • I love you.

Yes, it’s always dangerous to rely on outside sources for your personal validation, but as far as I can tell, most people crave it. That’s why Facebook is so popular. There’s something addictive to having people “like” your opinions. We naturally prefer to be agreed with.

Sadly, many people seem to withhold the above statements even when they feel it. And if you have to ask, “Do you trust me?” you come away feeling slightly pathetic. So you don’t ask, and you don’t know.

Unfortunately you cannot control external validation. But if you want it, you can be sure that others do, too. And you can control that. Tell the people that you love that you are proud of them, trust them, have faith in them. Let them know. If you do, then maybe, just maybe, they’ll pay it forward to someone else. You could have an impact beyond your own intimate circle of friends and relatives.

Having said that, I appreciate you, dear reader. Namaste.

Namaste

[Image credit: illuzone.net]

3 thoughts on “Have a Little Faith

Leave a Reply

