Come On, Get Happy!

I’m currently in the longest running good mood I’ve ever experienced in my life. Granted, the bar is set pretty low because I am prone to depression, but here lately it feels like the hills are alive with the sound of music. What can I say? I’m just happy. It feels fantastic.

I hope it’s not because I’ve been consuming more yogurt. I read about a study that says that increasing the probiotics in your system aids with depression. Apparently bad bacteria in your gut actually sends signals to your brain which alters your mood. Probiotics replace that bad bacteria with the good kind. I figured it was worth a try. But I hope there’s more to it than that. I’d hate to think I’m nothing but a vehicle that bacteria rides around in, and my outlook is dictated by who’s behind that gastrointestinal steering wheel.

Or maybe it’s just that it’s been extremely sunny here in Seattle of late. Vitamin D is good. The days are longer, and the world is in bloom. So is a distant yellow star in control of my attitude?

I prefer another theory. For the first time in my life I took a long, hard look at myself and determined what was making me miserable, and I then made a lot of long, hard scary changes. I’m not talking about changing my hairstyle, here. I’m talking about changes that took years and cost a fortune and were extremely high risk. I basically tore my life down to its very foundations and started over again in a new place where I know not a soul. I also started seeking out life experiences. I have been reinventing myself. And dare I say it? I like how I’m turning out.

So yeah. I’m happy. Whether it’s due to my own personal do-over, the sun, or to the bacterial warfare I’m waging in my stomach, or some combination of all three, I’ll take it. I’ll take it, and go back for seconds.

dv1632002

[Image credit: yogurt-milk.com]

9 thoughts on “Come On, Get Happy!

Leave a Reply

