What People Want to Believe

A Facebook friend of mine recently posted a cute picture of a teacup pig on her page, and a half a dozen people responded along the lines of, “Oooh, I want one!!!” “Soooo cute!” Of course, I had to be the bubble-burster. I said, “Yeah, they’re cute until they get to be 100 pounds and start knocking over your furniture and defecating on the carpet.”

What I wasn’t expecting was the anger my comment elicited. “They do NOT!!!” “They stay small. That’s why they’re called TEACUP pigs.” To which I responded, “They’re called teacup pigs so you’ll be tricked into buying one.” Then I posted a link to several articles that confirm that they do in fact get to be 50 to 100 pounds if you’re lucky. Even bigger than that if you’re not.

Even in the face of overwhelming evidence, some of these people refused to believe me. They want to live in a world where cute little pigs stay cute. To be honest, I’d like to live in that world, too, but unfortunately I live in the real one.

People will cling to their cherished fantasies. It would be nice to live in a world where we can use the planet any way we want to, but unfortunately Global Warming exists. It would be nice to live in a world where evil people were 100 percent evil and easy to identify, but no. It would be great if everyone conformed to our ideas of morality. (Actually, I think it might be rather boring, but I’m funny that way.) While we’re at it, let’s have unicorns that fart rainbows.

But I digress. The point is, do your homework before buying a mini-pig.

l-baby-pigs

Looks are deceiving.

3 thoughts on “What People Want to Believe

  1. These are the same people who get a dog at a puppy mill with no research into that type of dog and then putting it in the pound… or they get a puppy for their kid for Christmas and then decide they don’t want it… or they get a dog and then surgically alter it…

Leave a Reply

