The Omelet that is My Life

Anyone who knows me well knows that I hate to cook. If it weren’t for the fact that I love to eat, you’d never see me in the kitchen at all. It’s just not one of my things.

But today I had top quality ingredients in the fridge, and I decided to use them to make a bacon and cheese omelet. I could just picture this fluffy work of art on the plate, a yellow half moon oozing with cheesy goodness and crispy thick bacon. Mmmmm…

But as per usual with me, my imagination is gorgeous, but my execution leaves a lot to be desired. Suffice it to say I wound up with a gelatinous pile of scrambled eggs with cheese and bacon mixed in. Somewhat disappointing. But you know what? It still tasted great, and in the end, that’s all that matters.

As I was eating this “omelet” I realized that it is a metaphor for my life. I have high hopes and high expectations, but in the end things usually wind up to be a bit of a mess. But somehow, unexpectedly, they seem to work. Not exactly according to plan, but still… not bad.

My late boyfriend used to say, “We’ll get it done. It may not be pretty, but it’ll be done.” Yup. That’s about the size of it.

[Image credit: bighipslittlehips.com]
[Image credit: bighipslittlehips.com]

3 thoughts on “The Omelet that is My Life

Leave a Reply

