Stolen Lives

Recently I heard an interview with Andrew McCarthy. He’s probably best known for his acting in the movies Pretty in Pink and Weekend at Bernie’s. But in this interview he talked more about his job as an editor at large for National Geographic Traveler magazine.

Okay, this pisses me off. Not only has he maintained his dimpled good looks despite being 2 years older than me, not only is he successful, but now he has my dream job, too? Oh, and he has published books. Even better. My inner child is screaming, “Not fair! Not fair!”

If I were about a half century younger, I’d be throwing a tantrum right now. Why can’t I lead a charmed life? I’m a nice person. I work hard. I’m intelligent. I recycle. But noooooo…

Andrew McCarthy, you’ve stolen my life! I want it back. (Well, “back” is a relative term, since I never had it in the first place. But you know what I mean!!!)

Okay, so, yeah, he struggled with alcoholism and went to rehab and has been divorced, which are things I’ve never had to cope with, but… still…

Sigh. I guess the rain falls on all of us every now and then. And with that, I’ll leave you with this quote:

Everyone is screwed up, broken, clingy, and scared, even the people who seem to have it more or less together. They are much more like you than you would believe. So try not to compare your insides to their outsides.

–Anne Lamott

Andrew McCarthy [Image credit: pinterest.com]
Andrew McCarthy
[Image credit: pinterest.com]
3 thoughts on “Stolen Lives

Leave a Reply

