Satisfying Your Man

Recently a very distant young relative posted this meme on her Facebook page.

Hillary

It made me very sad. Not because I’m pro-Hillary Clinton (which I am), but because of the whole mindset behind this meme. So I asked my relative, “Why was it her responsibility to satisfy him?” All I heard back were some very defensive crickets.

And I really would like an actual answer to that question. Her husband cheated on her. How is that her fault? I loved Bill Clinton as president, but he’s a man that has demonstrated that he cannot seem to keep it in his pocket. There are a few of those floating around. But they’re adults and they make their own choices.

Even if there were problems in the marriage, or the intimacy had completely disappeared, there are plenty of steps to take before hopping into bed with someone else. Open communication, perhaps. Counseling. Even, dare I say it? Divorce.

The idea that men have these needs and it’s the women’s responsibility to fulfill them or else is antiquated and absurd. And it’s actually insulting to men. It’s rude to reduce them to animals that have no ability to maintain self-control.  If you want to play the field that badly, then don’t make a commitment to one person. Simple.

I hate that there’s even one young woman out there who thinks that this meme makes sense. I hope that she’s never cheated on, because she’ll think she’s to blame. I want to shake her and tell her to just be herself, and if her partner doesn’t appreciate that, if that’s not enough for him, then she is the one who should be dissatisfied.

6 thoughts on “Satisfying Your Man

  1. In my experience, men cheat on their spouses because they are incredibly selfish. Instead of getting a divorce, which would leave them alone and vulnerable, they run around screwing everything within reach. That leaves ´em satisfied AND in a safe and comfortable marriage. No, not all men are that selfish. But there´s a good number of pigs out there.Nice topic, thanks for sharing!

  2. Pingback: 10 MORE Quotes That Should Piss Off Any Woman With Sense – The View from a Drawbridge

Leave a Reply

