Flowers That Don’t Look Real

Once again I’m faced with the fact that I don’t know everything. I don’t know why this continues to take me by surprise. Oh, but it does.

Today I was introduced to a whole group of flowers, dozens, maybe hundreds, that I didn’t even know existed before. And they are otherworldly. They look like they’ve somehow been photoshopped into existence. They’re called auriculas.

Collage - Auricula Animals - 500

It seems that auriculas, like purebred dogs, have been very influenced by the hand of man. I’ve always had mixed emotions about that, but as you can see, the results are quite stunning. I may have to get an auricula one of these days. These photos came from Abriachan Nurseries.

Collage - Auricula Royals - 500

But how have I managed to be on this planet for a half century without even knowing of their existence? Especially when there are whole societies and organizations dedicated to their preservation and evolution? That shows how much I know. The Bard said it best:

“There are more things in Heaven and Earth, Horatio, than are dreamt of in your philosophy.” – Shakespeare

(For more otherworldly flowers, check out columbines and bleeding hearts!)

7 thoughts on “Flowers That Don’t Look Real

Leave a Reply

