Timing

For the first time in my life I have a job with a decent retirement plan. Unfortunately, I didn’t get the job until age 50, so I’m still going to have to work until I drop dead. Timing. It’s all about timing.

I think about timing quite a bit. Some people are lucky enough to be in the right place at the right time. They buy low and sell high. They start young. They remain committed. They make good choices.

A lot of this seems to be less about good planning and more about dumb luck. And who you’re connected to. I am only speculating, though, because for the most part luck has eluded me, and I don’t really know anyone of influence.

Then again, it’s possible that I’m luckiest person on earth. It may be that I was supposed to step off that curb 30 seconds earlier and get run down by a bus. I may have been one squirt of pesticide away from dying from some horrible disease. Who knows? Life is a big bell curve, and no one can be sure exactly where one is located on that spectrum. Things could always be a lot worse, or a lot better.

Often I’ll meet men whom I strongly suspect I could have had a fantastic life with. But they’re already taken. Or they’ve been hurt so much they’re not willing to try. Or they’re about to move to another state. Or there’s so much going on in their life at the moment that they don’t even see me for the perfect mate I would be. Or their very life gets tragically cut short.

That’s why I really love string theory. I can look around, see all the possibilities that are not bearing fruit in my world, but get comfort from the idea that somewhere, somehow, I am actually living all of them out.

Timing.

[Image credit: fooyoh.com]
[Image credit: fooyoh.com]
Leave a Reply

