Silly Thoughts

Quite often I have too much time on my hands and my mind wanders. I never quite know where it will go. You might say I suffer from a preponderance of ponderings.

After a while I’ll wind up with so many unanswered questions rattling around in my brain that they cause me to lose sleep. What follows are three of my typical trains of thought that seem to have recently jumped the tracks.

  • Who was the first person who thought it would be a good idea to put a tiny little umbrella in a cocktail? Why? Did they want to keep the ice cubes cool? Why did they think this would be more attractive than, say, a flower? There must be companies out there that do nothing but make little tiny umbrellas all day. Do they have a special holiday for the inventor of this frivolity? Is his or her picture on their factory wall? How many acres of rain forest have been destroyed so we can have tiny little umbrellas?
  • On several occasions I’ve read mystery novels or seen movies in which the detectives notice that there’s a knife absent from the victim’s knife block, so surely that must be the missing murder weapon. If that’s the case, if a detective ever visits me, he’s going to think there’s been a massacre. My knife block has several empty slots, which I’ve filled with knives from other incomplete sets. Am I the only one who has a knife block deficit? What do other people do, throw out the whole set when one knife goes missing? Wouldn’t that provide the general populous with even more murder weapons?
  • The other day I was packing my suitcase and it occurred to me that suitcases must have originally been cases for suits. I can only think of one occasion in which I’ve packed a suit in a suitcase. I suppose people must still do so when they are going on business trips, but thank God the concept of formal wear in office environments seems to be slowly going the way of the dodo bird. As I stuff my sweat pants and jeans and t-shirts into my suitcase, I get a little thrill that I’m misusing this handy device, and I’m thanking my lucky stars that I don’t need hat boxes, and will never have to worry about gloves, high heels, panty hose, and corsets.

Now, get out of my head. It’s already crowded enough. Here. Have a cocktail.

[Image credit: myrtlebeachholidayinn.com]
[Image credit: myrtlebeachholidayinn.com]
9 thoughts on “Silly Thoughts

      1. lyn sutton

        They are festive because of their duality. You can use them rain or shine. Duality is always festive except in an ex, then it’s confusing and infuriating…

  1. lyn sutton

    Your thoughts are not silly. They are profound morsels of sarcastic musings that question the universe of it’s intentions, which even in their unanswered state impart a deep and cosmic knowledge of your true self.
    A small taste of the silliness that crowds my thoughts which are now also filled with your questions. Thanks.

    In case of rain or sun the umbrella keeps the drink from becoming diluted so yes they do serve to keep the ice from melting.[ After all, the stronger the drink, the drunker you get, the more you spend. But the more you spend, the poorer you become, the less you spend…so what’s the point ?]

    Perhaps your knives were stolen and used by murdering thieves and it’s only a matter of time before they’re traced back to your knife block. Always wipe your prints off after using your knives.
    Guns don’t kill people…knives do. How come we don’t have to get knife permits?

    You can use a brief case for undies but in my case they’re not so brief. (Neither are my replies) So what do I pack my undies in?

Leave a Reply

