Fascinating

It always surprises me when other people aren’t equally engrossed by the things that I find interesting. I have no idea why that is. You’d think I’d have learned by now.

But how can you not enjoy a really good book or a well done PBS documentary? How can you not loose entire afternoons when engaged in some form of creativity? Is it really possible to not be intrigued when you meet a new and extremely unique individual?

What stuns me is that there are people out there who are not the least bit curious. They actually get annoyed when they have to learn something new. If they step out of their comfort zone in any way, the stress is obvious on their faces. Heaven forbid they have to eat anything other than meat and potatoes. There’s no sense of adventure, no desire to explore or travel. I don’t get it. I can’t even get through a day without finding something fascinating.

But I try to comfort myself with the fact that some people probably feel befuddled by me as well. They can’t imagine how I am not into sports. They wonder how I function without a television. It seems insane to them that I’m not caught up in the latest fashion or trends, and don’t even own make up, let alone use it.

This would be a very boring world indeed if all of us were exactly alike. Three cheers for diversity!

“Fascinating.”
13 thoughts on “Fascinating

  1. Brian

    Lol. If someone likes only to do what they know it’s only because they like to know what they’re doing. Chances are they’ve been through enough excitement and appreciate the absence of chaos.

      1. lyn sutton

        In my world we just say…Lyn happens.
        Hip! Hip! Hooray! ( x3 ) for diversity…now I’m off to create a little chaos…come join me.
        (I obviously don’t have well defined comfort zones.)

  2. lyn sutton

    As far as your avoidance of fashion and makeup…just tell them you can’t improve on natural perfection. Or maybe you are starting a new trend.

Leave a Reply

