How Do Men Do It?

At the risk of setting the women’s movement back 50 years, I have to say there are certain characteristics that are more traditionally male that I’d much rather not take on. Having recently thrown my hat into the dating ring, I’ve been trying to make the first move a lot more than I ever had to in my younger days. This goes against all my instincts. I’m so far out of my comfort zone that I can’t even see it from here. But my current philosophy is nothing ventured, nothing gained, and therefore I’ve been putting myself out there. Or at least I’ve been trying. So far all this has gotten me is a boatload of rejection.

Men may not like rejection, but they’re more used to it. Life is really a numbers game, and they have been made to understand this since early childhood. I, on the other hand, have had the luxury of sitting back and letting relationships come to me up to this point. And I had no idea what a luxury that was. Now the shoe is on the other foot, and it’s giving me blisters.

There is other man stuff I would never be able to incorporate into my character. I am totally cool with asking directions. I can’t imagine my default position being that I should act as though I know what I’m talking about even when I’m not sure. That would close me off from all the many fonts of information that come in the form of friends, family, and coworkers. I’d feel completely isolated if my only brain trust were my own brain, as formidable as it may be.

I’m also not particularly competitive. I’m happy when others win. I’m surprised when others resent it when I win.

Despite the fact that I deal with discrimination everywhere from the workplace to the used car lot, I have to say I’m really glad I’m not a man. It’s just not in me.

'You two need to get over yourselves and just ask for directions.'

7 thoughts on “How Do Men Do It?

  1. lyn sutton

    Whenever I won my brother would call it beginners luck…we rarely played the same game twice.
    I prefer games where everyone wins. Do you know of any?

    The only person I’m in competition with is myself and it’s always a tie.

    True that many men can’t ask for directions, pretend they know when they don’t and isolate themselves in the process but what does that say about us women that humiliate ourselves just to get a date with them? What is wrong with us? 🙂

  2. Oh deary me, I think your dating pool needs to be bigger or more exciting. It just takes one proper match to spark an interest. You certainly seem funny and anything but boring. My husband said if he had to suddenly date the current choices would be the biggest hurdle

Leave a Reply

