Stuffing Up

One of the wisest things my mother ever told me was that if you make a mistake at work and are able to fix it, don’t tell anyone about it. But if you really screw up and can’t rectify it, then be an adult and admit to it. I’ve pretty much lived by this philosophy my whole life.

But it doesn’t work as well in your personal life. I screwed up recently, admitted I’d painted myself into an emotional corner, and yet I still can’t seem to smooth things over. I’ve blown it. And I’ll probably regret it for the rest of my life, because it means that a really amazing person won’t be a part of that life. But honestly, I see no way out, and he doesn’t seem to want to throw me a lifeline.

I hate to think I’m left with nothing but disappointments, but a little tiny part of me is whispering, “If he doesn’t want to help get you back on an even keel since you so obviously are struggling to do so yourself, is he someone whom you’ll be able to count on the next time you stuff up? Because you know you will, sooner or later.”

An important part of any relationship is the belief that the other person will have your back. Once that trust is gone, is there any way to restore it? Once you’ve toppled a brand new foundation, can you rebuild on that same spot? Not by yourself.

Now I know why so many dating profiles say, “No drama, please.” I can totally understand that desire. But in every life a little drama will fall, and therefore that statement tends to backfire. I avoid such people, because it’s obvious they won’t be there for you when the shit inevitably hits the fan.

[Image credit: fleetva.biz]
[Image credit: fleetva.biz]
10 thoughts on “Stuffing Up

  1. lyn sutton

    A truly amazing person should recognize and forgive an honest mistake. Especially from one as understanding and supportive as you. That tiny part whispering speaks the truth.

    1. lyn sutton

      Turkey cooking tip for Art… eat til you’re stuffed…draw a very hot bath…get in…baste every 30 min. 🙂 gobble gobble…

  2. lyn sutton

    People tell me I’m a good cook but I’ve never cooked a turkey as large as Art before… Hope he can get the water hot enough. 🙂

Leave a Reply

