In Spite of Fear

Sometimes I come across someone who writes so eloquently that I simply have to share it with you, dear readers. Thanks, Amelia, for allowing me to do so!

Amelia Isabel

Amelia with Paris keychain

As many of you know, I gave a talk this past weekend in NYC about my travels this year. (It was dubbed a “smasheroo” – something I am so honored by and so grateful to everyone that attended and all of you who wished me luck beforehand.) I spoke about my roadtrip in South America, my roadtrip across the U.S., and my recent travels in Northwestern Europe. I spoke about bravery, about risk-taking, about dreams, goals, and about the courage it takes to carry on despite setbacks and the fears that threaten to paralyze us from moving forward.

I spoke Saturday night, barely 24 hours after the Paris attacks, and underneath my spoken words ran a deep tremble in my bones. How could I be standing in front of a crowd talking about my incredible, wonderful year of adventures when such a terrible tragedy had just taken place? Even though…

View original post 445 more words

2 thoughts on “In Spite of Fear

Leave a Reply

