Trump is the New Hitler

I have a German last name, and because of that I have always taken the events that led up to, and occurred during, World War II very seriously. Growing up, I was fascinated by the Diaries of Anne Frank and all things related to concentration camps. I was proud of the fact that my father helped to liberate one during the war.

I could never understand what would cause a nation to be sucked in by an insane man who spewed nothing but hate. I could never imagine being so afraid of an entire group of people that I would leave even its women and children out in the cold. I couldn’t comprehend how anyone could justify depriving a whole religious group of its human rights.

I still don’t understand it. I never will. But now I can see how it happens. The other day, Donald Trump said, “Donald J. Trump is calling for a total and complete shutdown of Muslims entering the United States until our country’s representatives can figure out what the hell is going on.”

First of all, the screening system that allows immigrants into the US is extremely rigorous. If you think people just wander over the border willy nilly, think again. Better yet, Google it. If the system had been this stringent when my grandparents came to this country, they’d very likely have been turned back at Ellis Island, and I wouldn’t exist.

Normally, I wouldn’t take anything Donald Trump said very seriously. In my personal opinion, he’s a racist nut job with a bad comb over. But what was terrifying about this current bit of insanity of his was that when he said it, the crowd cheered. They cheered just as the Germans did when Hitler spouted his racist insanity during the Nuremberg Rally. Do you understand what I’m saying? They cheered.

In Germany, at the time, the economy was in a shambles. People were afraid. They wanted someone to blame. So a charismatic man with a bad hairdo came along and exploited their fear and turned it into hate and as a result over 60 million people died in a war that should never have taken place.

By the way, it wasn’t until much later in life that I discovered, thanks to the Elie Weisel Foundation, that none of my relatives had joined the Nazi Party. My family comes from the Alsace-Lorraine region in what is now France. Although this region has been dragged back and forth between France and Germany throughout history, during most of the last century, and this one so far, it’s part of France. What a huge weight off my shoulders!

But can I truly set down that weight? Now history seems to be repeating itself. Trump doesn’t scare me nearly as much as those cheering people in the crowd. Those people, those fellow Americans, do not seem to have learned from the deadly mistakes of history. Those people vote. I don’t want to see what happens if their hatred wins.

trump hitler
[Image credit: Youtube.com]
13 thoughts on “Trump is the New Hitler

  1. kramer

    You’re comparing “apples to oranges” here, aren’t you? Comparing immigration to hate and then jumping to a bad comb over and Trump, and then dragging in The Holocaust for an extra ingredient to your spewing disdain commentary? Really? You’re the one jumping from the fire into the frying pan. If you think immigrants DON’T come into this country “willy-nilly,” you’re the one that’s mistaken. The regulations of today have little or nothing to do with the “ILLEGAL” immigration process of history. Illegal immigration is a real problem in this country . . . you Google it! 🙂

  2. Angiportus

    First they came for the Jews…or the Muslims…Whatever the true status of the immigration thing is, I find this scapegoat-mania disgusting and dangerous. The messed-up-ness of this country is too vast to be the fault of any one sector, naturalized or otherwise..
    I have disliked Trump ever since reading of an incident in which he couldn’t be bothered to move his yacht and a troop of Girl Scouts had to cancel their boat trip. That really says a lot. I heard someone say he is honest and spontaneous–well, so is diarrhea.

  3. lyn sutton

    This was the insanity behind my sarcastic satire on your previous blog. I had been watching it unfold all week, and hearing too many people reacting to it in the extreme.Thanks for addressing it.

    We are not our ancestors mistakes, but we do have the responsibility to fix them and not repeat them. If we fail in that, then we are to blame.

      1. lyn sutton

        I usually avoid facebook but I can imagine given what I hear directly out of peoples mouths… reason and compassion overwhelmed by so much ignorant fear. Isn’t that the terrorists goal?

Leave a Reply

