The Word Art of Michael Volpicelli

I always get very excited when I come across a prolific artist that I didn’t even know existed up to that point. Suddenly, I’m introduced to a veritable smorgasbord of creativity, whether it be music or textiles or art or books. My world instantly becomes richer and more varied.

Such was the case the other day when I was Googling images of Malala Yousafzai, my personal hero. I came upon this incredible drawing, and upon closer inspection, discovered that the drawing consisted of words.

Malala Yousafzai
Malala Yousafzai by Michael Volpicelli

As a writer, the idea of creating images with words appeals to me greatly. I had to know more. I soon discovered that the artist’s name is Michael Volpicelli. This talented young man is a war veteran who obviously puts a great deal of thought into the peaceful images he creates.

Rather than blather on about this artist, I think I’ll allow his words to speak for themselves.

aung-san-suu-kyi-michael-volpicelli-
Aung San Suu Kyi by Michael Volpicelli
good-dog-michael-volpicelli-
Good Dog by Michael Volpicelli
thich-nhat-hanh-michael-volpicelli-
Thich Nhat Hanh by Michael Volpicelli
Leave a Reply

