Five Planets at Once

Between now and February 20th, about 80 minutes before dawn, you should be able to see Mercury, Venus, Saturn, Mars and Jupiter in the sky with your naked eye. That is, of course, unless you live in the Pacific Northwest like I do. Then you’re lucky to even see the sky at this time of the year. To read about the best way to view this phenomenon, check out the EarthSky website.

Whenever any kind of stellar (or in this case, planetary) event occurs, I get butterflies in my stomach. It’s not that I think it’s going to bring about the apocalypse, or that there’s some need to sacrifice a virgin. It’s just that when things happen on such a grand scale, I get to realize how small I am in the overall scheme of things. Oddly enough, I find this comforting.

It’s nice to know that there’s really no need to get worked up about stuff. The planets are going to do their thing whether or not I get the dishes washed. Nothing I do or don’t do will impact their orbits one bit. It’s really quite liberating to know that.

There’s no perspective quite like the universal perspective.

Happy stargazing!

5-planets-NHemisphere-80minsbeforesunrise-EarthSky1-e1453249867188

5 thoughts on “Five Planets at Once

  1. Angiportus

    I never felt that smallness/insignificance thing and don’t want to…but I find planets in the sky are a beautiful sight. They just stick out like anything. Jupiter is my favorite, looking so white and pure. My place faces east, and I’ve seen it rise. My mom lives out in the country where it’s dark and Jupiter actually makes the bathroom a little brighter when the lights are off. And Venus really does give you a shadow.

Leave a Reply

