Drop Dead? Really?

We all come with baggage if we’ve actually made an effort to live our lives. Mine includes staying in a 16 year relationship that made me, for the most part, really unhappy. Don’t get me wrong. He was a really good guy. And we did have our good times. That’s why I stayed so long. That and I couldn’t justify, in my mind, hurting someone who hadn’t done anything wrong. When he finally did do something wrong it was a doozie, and that’s why I left.

In hindsight, I suppose it would have been kinder to be cruel at the outset and nip it in the bud so that we both could have moved on, but I didn’t know how to do that. I do have some regrets about that. I was always the stronger one, and by not breaking things off at the start I did us both a huge disservice. We could have been great friends, I think.

But deep down, I didn’t want to be considered the bad guy. I never cheated on him, I even financially supported him for many years, and I helped him start a career. His uncanny ability to be the victim made me loathe to be the perpetrator, but I didn’t understand the unwritten rule: the one who does the breaking up is ALWAYS going to be considered the bad guy, even if it is totally justified.

Friends have told me he seems to have landed on his feet. He’s married now, so I’m assuming he’s happy. At least I hope so. Genuinely.

In every other way his life doesn’t seem to have changed much, whereas mine has changed so much that it’s barely recognizable. That was one of our problems. My dreams were always a lot bigger than his. Not that there’s anything wrong with that. Your dreams should fit you, and no one should force you to change their size. If you’re happy, that’s all that matters.

Given that he seems to have found love, you’d think he’d be glad I finally ended things. But this is a guy that is still bitter about things that happened to him in high school. He’s a grudge-holder. He doesn’t let things go. People always wonder why he can’t even smile in photographs. He wants the world to know how unhappy he is. He doesn’t move on. He lets things fester. That always made me very sad for him.

So I shouldn’t have been surprised to see what was on his facebook page the other day. He posted the song “Drop Dead” by Ghoti Hook, and said, “Makes me think of my ex…”

Seriously? You’re that angry over something you brought on yourself? When you’re supposed to be happily married? You hold onto a little cup of acid in your soul like that?

If anything, it makes me feel even more justified, because I wouldn’t wish death on anyone. Especially not someone I shared 16 years with. I can’t even imagine what it must be like to sleep next to someone with those sorts of sentiments about another human being.

The irony is that the reason I went to his Facebook page in the first place is that I wanted to give him some good news that affects him, too. It was something that I strongly suspect he’d have been happy to hear about. But instead, apparently, I should drop dead. Ah well.

The fact that no one “liked” that particular Facebook post of his, even his family members who never liked me in the first place, tells you all you need to know about how sad that sentiment is. I’m sure he assumed everyone would find it amusing. Not so much.

For my part, I don’t maintain any bitterness. Everything in my past brought me to where I am now, and I’m happier than I’ve ever been. I wish him well. But I also feel very sorry for him, when I take the time to think about it. If I could send him a song in response to his “Drop Dead”, it would be “Let It Go” from the movie Frozen. I truly hope that some day he is able to do so.

drop dead
[Image credit: knowyourmeme.com]
19 thoughts on “Drop Dead? Really?

  1. Brian

    Yeah but that’s only the appearance of it, sweetie. You might look a bit deeper and notice THE TRUTH! (Lol, the truth) Yes the truth!! I.e. He’s simply trying to, ‘hurt you back’ because he’s under the belief that you intended to hurt him so personally. I’ve been there before. Wishing certain people would just DIE because if they DIED then how exactly would they be able to hurt me ever again? Muhahahaha, DIE! But yeah, without noticing the necessity of putting down such sentiments, we’re kinda looking at fire and seeing a pillow. Unfortunately, this can go on for quite some time because until it, ‘hurts us enough’ we might not decide that we’ve had enough of that pain yet. But because all living things, including your ex, desire to be happy, his actions will surely change on the day that he notices his own position in what’s happening to him. Could be this life; could be the next. But keep in mind that everyone is evolving mostly at their own pace. Thus beings who are ahead of (not better than) you, will in the same compassionate way, notice some of the faults that you have, while wishing you the very best on the human path of setting the self right

  2. lyn sutton

    Went to the song…only 480 views…had to give it a thumbs down…sounds like a child throwing a tantrum. Some people never out grow that stage. 🙂 Now you get to let this new hurt go.
    At least he’s only wishing you dead…bad as that is, my ex…well, use your imagination.

  3. So in a previous life (feels like it), I was married to a stupid foolish bully of a man and should’ve left long time ago. Took me 5 years to make the decision. Long after, I thought it would’ve been better If he just ‘went away’ as if he died suddenly and I could mourn the loss of a once loved one. The day I decided that would be best for me – I tried imagining he was a permanent thing I had to blot out of my life. I had to move from the tiny town we lived in. He was his HUGE hero at a local school, and so many people knew and adored him. They thought I was crazy leaving him. Not one lawyer in that small town would help me divorce him. I found a kick ass BIG lawyer in the next city I moved to. Un-fiended ALL of our ‘mutual’ friends who never told me about his long time affair, and child he had with the ‘other’ woman. I went back using my maiden name again, anything to distance me from him and his family. A few years later I re-married, had two kids and it’s been 20 years of bliss. I really hope you find someone deserving of your love and time.
    It’s painful o read someone wishes you harm. He needs to be called out on his childish behaviour. People often see through other’s bull…best of luck ahead.

    1. Well, fortunately he wasn’t a bully or a cheater or anything like that, in fairness. But childish? Obviously. I learned much from the relationship, so that’s a positive thing. But I can relate to you a little, in that everyone thought he was a saint, because he was very good at making me look like the devil incarnate. I felt so misunderstood by everyone around me. Now I’ve found a place where I feel like I fit in, and am so much happier. The rest will come in time.

Leave a Reply

