Phone Sex Guy

I met a fascinating guy the other day. (God, I love Seattle!) He’s a phone sex operator. He pretends to be a woman for unsuspecting male clients.

I don’t know him well enough to ask what it must be like to live that lie to make money. I’m not judging. I’m just extremely curious. What does he say? What’s his routine?

Come to think of it, all phone sex operators are living that same lie, regardless of gender. They’re pretending to be turned on by a total stranger. They’re feigning sexual arousal for hours on end. They’re actors. It’s a living.

I wonder how many of them enjoy their work. There’s a whole lot to be said for having a telecommuting job with a flexible schedule. I have no idea how good the money is. I suppose that over time you build up a client base.

But it must be exhausting to have to leave your heart and soul on a shelf somewhere every work day. It must take energy to dive headlong into that torrent of raw loneliness. I think that at the end of the day I’d feel as if something had been taken from me.

When all is said and done, though, I must admit that I admire people who get creative in order to survive. And this guy is fulfilling a need. He’s providing a service. He’s also pretending to care about his work in order to pay the bills. So really, how different is he from most of the rest of us in this world?

Phone Sex

10 thoughts on “Phone Sex Guy

  1. Hey there – was just about to write – that it’s not much different from anyone else – I don’t know if you read the Harvard Business Review – but there are always very interesting, and oftentimes downright scary articles in there, naturally with a strong US centric approach to life – and one recent article on positive emotions at work stated “get your employees to fake the requested emotion at work until they feel it” – the article does say that you shouldn’t do this for too long especially as it might make your employees burnt out at some point, but the philosophy is if it’s not there, just pretend like it is. Maybe it’s a different setting but the base line seems the same as the work described above? Years ago a Lesbian friend of mine who was a nurse aide used to earn extra money on the phone sex lines – for her it was a job like any other and I think she got a kick out of the fact that she was totally not into men but was earning money from them….not something I’d want to do to earn money personally, but then again like so much else it could be worse, at least it’s only on the phone!

    1. Fake it ’til you make it is right up there with the American dream, for sure. I’m lucky in that I happen to love my job 90 percent of the time, but I’m the exception, not the rule.
      I contemplated doing the phone sex thing once, when I was at my most financially desperate, but in the end I couldn’t do that to myself. I knew it would change me in some fundamental way. But you’re right. It could be worse, and it’s amazing what you can do to survive.

      1. 🙂 yes – fake it till you make it – terrible concept I think, all shiny on the surface and not so shiny beneath. Ah well. Also not healthy, but then I guess it keeps people in the hamster wheel :). Jobs – 90% wow that is pretty good. I love mine too, most of the time, but then I am the mistress of my fate most of the time, more risk more fun, but you cannot blame anyone else for it! Admittedly I would not contemplate the phone sex thing ever, for the same reason you state, but I think we’re probably all made in very different molds – and it is amazing what you can do to survive if you have to….Happy philosophical wednesday !

  2. lyn sutton

    Don’t most women have to feign sexual arousal at some point in a relationship to spare the ego of her partner or is that just the curse of an older generation? And to think I could have gotten paid for those performances. 🙂

Leave a Reply

