Accepting the Things I Cannot Change

I think my dog is dying. I feel so helpless. All I can do is fidget and pace, and that changes nothing. This morning I cuddled him and said, “There are tears in my future.” I take him to the vet this afternoon. I suspect it won’t go well.

One of the downsides to owning a pet is the difference in life spans. Even if, by some miracle, there’s an easy fix for my dog’s situation, there will be tears in my future. Unless I get hit by a crosstown bus, I’m going to outlive him, and there’s not a thing I can do about it.

Discussing this with a friend, she reminded me of the Serenity Prayer.

Serenity

This is sage advice. There really is no point in getting worked up about the things I cannot change. But dammit, no, I don’t accept this. I just don’t. So I guess I have the “courage” and “wisdom” parts down, but Serenity… ah, Serenity… she eludes me.

13 thoughts on “Accepting the Things I Cannot Change

    1. I really expected to have to put him to sleep today, but he seems to be rallying. He’s voluntarily eating a little bit, and no longer vomiting. It feels like we’re still heading toward that iceberg, but the titanic is slowly trying to swerve. Wish us luck.

  1. lyn sutton

    The serenity will come when you’re ready…in the meantime know that I and your faithful followers are here for you with opened arms and hearts.

Leave a Reply

