Me at My Most Politically Incorrect

I probably shouldn’t be writing this, but hell, I’m thinking it, so why not? I have to say I love working with men. Well, I do now, anyway.

For most of my working life I’ve been in male-dominated jobs; the lone female in the pack, so to speak. At first it can be awkward. Some people, no matter how hard you try, are never going to accept you.

When an entire group of men are uncomfortable with your presence, it can feel pretty awful. They’ll be tense and formal with you, and you’ll get a very strong sense that there’s a lot going on behind the scenes that isn’t being shared with you. There’s nothing like a group of disapproving men to make you feel isolated.

But man, when they do accept you, it’s so much fun! They treat you like one of the guys. You get teased and picked on, but that is just further evidence that you’re liked. Once I figured that out, I was golden.

So today when a group of guys came to do the biweekly pumping of our septic tank, rather than knocking on the door and stiffly notifying me that they were on the bridge, one of them unlocked the door and shouted up the stairs, “Hey! Your shitter’s full!” And I responded, “I didn’t do it!”

Oh, yeah. I’ve arrived.

oneoftheguys
[Image credit: theodysseyonline.com]
4 thoughts on “Me at My Most Politically Incorrect

  1. The ladies that can be one of the guys are not that common. I am lucky enough to have gathered MANY over the years into clan! Not only can you treat them like one of the guys, it is also perfectly ok (in fact appreiciated) to let your jaw drop when they get decked out and remind you that they are ladies!

    You have just risen even hire in my regards! AND I am betting it WAS you that filled it!

Leave a Reply

