Feeling Helpless

I’ve always admired people who have a strong sense of faith. Whether that translates into religious belief or just an unshakable sense that everything’s going to be all right, it’s just not something that I possess as a general rule. Most of the time that’s fine. The only time it’s bad is when things are bad. Then I feel helpless. And that’s my least favorite feeling in the world.

I’d love to think that my little problems are significant enough to get the attention of some higher power, but I just can’t seem to take that leap. I guess it’s called a leap of faith for a reason. I’m just not a leaper.

Life experience has made me more of a believer in the laws of nature, and nature can be cruel as hell. I’d love it if the cute little baby zebra would somehow be snatched from the jaws of the lioness, but if that were the case, we’d be up to our butts in zebras in no time. In the long run that would be problematic.

I guess that’s the whole point. There is a bigger picture. We’re just not always privy to it. If there’s actually an organized plan (and I have my doubts), I am only one very tiny piece of the puzzle, and my desire to be saved from my misery is not as important to that plan as I’d like it to be. Oh well.

The only thing I am fairly certain of is that there’s usually a lesson to be learned from all of life’s drama. That, at least, is worth the price of admission.

justin_noarms

 

 

12 thoughts on “Feeling Helpless

      1. Brian

        False. If you saw something happen but I didn’t, do I have the right to say that it did not happen?

      2. Brian

        But putting my personal experiences aside, quantum physics has already proven that we can’t divide reality

  1. lyn sutton

    Worth the price of admission…I’ve gotten my monies worth and then some regardless of faith or lack of. . I love puzzles but never consciously considered that I am a puzzle piece but subconsciously…it all makes sense now.

Leave a Reply

