#boobsforBernie

Breastfeeding is such a controversial subject. God knows why. It’s the way nature intended women to feed their babies. It’s been going on for thousands of years. Every other mammal does it. It provides infants with health benefits that can be obtained no other way.

How did we become so prudish as a society that this one act can make a woman the object of ridicule? If it were men who traditionally breastfed their children (And it is biologically possible, by the way) would the public be so horrified?

Why are boobs so taboo? Why are they considered sex objects? Your mom has them. Chances are good that her mammary glands were the first ones you ever came in contact with in one way or another.

Ladies, do you want to shock someone? Grab one of your breasts through your shirt. They’ll actually recoil as if you’d whipped it out for all the world to see. I know, because I’ve tried it. I could touch my elbow or my knee or my head, all of which are semi-circular, and no one would bat an eyelash. But heaven forbid I acknowledge my big old hooters.

So when Bernie Sanders and his wife thanked a woman for breastfeeding at his rally in Cleveland the other day, this photo went viral. And I’m thrilled. This is just more proof that Bernie Sanders is the only rational candidate out there. I guarantee none of the others would have had the courage to take this stand, even though it shouldn’t be that big of a deal. Go Bernie!

breastfeeding

7 thoughts on “#boobsforBernie

  1. Angiportus

    Oh yes, the minute they can remove all the nonsense/mystique from it is a moment to feel relieved. Nothing bores me more than obsessions I don’t share. N-zillion real things to get worked up over and some people choose stuff like that.

Leave a Reply

