Cross-Stitch Obligations

Both my sisters have very detailed baby books. They include photos, footprints, congratulatory cards, first words, the dates of their first steps and other significant mileposts. By the time I came along, my mother was much older and under a great deal more stress. My baby book is not even half filled. I try not to take it personally.

But just as you should be careful what you wish for, you should also be careful what you promise. When you make a commitment, believe it or not, people will expect you to follow through. Funny how that happens.

When my niece had her first baby, I made him a personalized cross-stitch Christmas stocking. It probably took me about a thousand hours to complete. It was actually kind of fun. But now, years later, I’m working on one for child number three, and no definitive end in sight. Given my baby book story, I vow not to slack off just because the obligation turned out to be much bigger than I anticipated. But still… Jeez.

I am the sort of person who will stick to my promises unless I’m on my death bed. So that means I need to be pretty darned careful about what I offer up to the universe. My eyesight isn’t what it used to be. Those little cross-stitch exes are getting kind of blurry.

IMG_1242.JPG

2 thoughts on “Cross-Stitch Obligations

Leave a Reply

