Crossing the Line

I’ve been watching the violence at the recent Trump Rallies in horror. And then hearing Trump “predict” riots (which is tantamount to encouraging riots) if he doesn’t get the nomination is enough to send a chill up my spine. It doesn’t take much to turn people into animals, it seems. It makes me look skyward and shout, “WHAT IS WRONG WITH YOU PEOPLE???”

I’ve learned that it’s never a good idea to shout at the sky. It always seems to produce unexpected results. This time it gave me a life lesson. I was shown exactly what is wrong with those people.

Within an hour of my vertical screech, I was treated to the following Facebook post:

PLEASE HELP:
PLEASE SHARE:
UPDATES AT THE BOTTOM OF POST
I really need everyone single person who see’s this to share it. This man needs to be caught and needs to be off the streets of Seattle. He is a sexual predator, dangerous deviant and violated me.

This man spent about 3hrs in the Coffee Shop I work at. I thought he was a bit off when he first came in, and so did my boss. Seeing as he came in sometime between 7:30&8:30 in the morning, it got busy and we paid no attention to him after we served him his breakfast burrito. After the morning rush, at 9:40AM I realized he had re arranged his chair and table so he was faced straight at me and had his back against a window. I noticed he kept looking at me, and then to his phone, back and forth, over and over. He was holding his phone up but in a way that made it seem like he was doing something on it, yet he wasn’t. By the way he was acting my gut told me he was up to no good. I told my boss what I thought was going on and he went outside unknowingly behind the man to check and see what he was doing on his phone, and it turns out my gut was right. He had been filming me as well as other customers in an inappropriate manner for HOURS. When I got the confirmation, I lost it. I confronted him. I shoved the table into his gut and cussed him out trying to stand up for myself. I don’t remember much of what I said because I was filled with such rage and adrenaline. But I remember enough to know that I’m proud of myself, for being that brave in that moment. When he left my boss being the good man he is decided to fix the tables and clean the spot the guy had been at as he saw how shaken I was. Unfortunately my boss found pubic hair on the chair and around the area this disgusting sick pervert had been sitting. Not only was the guy filming me, and other women, in sexual ways, for sexual purposes, he somehow managed to get his pubic hair out of his pants…only making us assume he had been touching himself.

I don’t speak out much about my past publicly, but being a survivor of a sexual assault as a child, something like this is beyond just violating. It’s crushing. I can’t begin to tell you the emotions I’ve had since I was face to face with this sexual predator. Anger, fear, disgust and paranoia are just the tip of the iceberg. The flashbacks aren’t easy to fight through. For someone to not even touch me, not even speak to me to make me feel like this is depressing and leaves a sick knot in my stomach. I’ve felt like I’ve been ready to vomit since he left my sight.

I called the police, I gave them all the Information I could. The officer told me that they have had multiple reports in the last couple of weeks of a man with a similar description doing the same things I reported in the area. Luckily, I snapped the guys picture before I confronted him. So now, I need the publics help. Let’s find him, let’s stop him before he becomes more brazen and save anyone else from feeling as shitty as I do right now.

Here’s the information I have:

His name is Scott Marr

He is 5′ 9″
Short blondish brown hair
He is heavy set
He is 45
He wears larger headphones and carries a small red tote with a handle and wheels.
He comes across as developmentally & socially slow but I believe he is not.
His phone is an older version and has a cracked screen
Incident took place at 3rd & Colombia in Downtown Seattle.

IF YOU SEE THIS MAN, DO NOT MAKE CONTACT, CALL THE POLICE and report him! They need to make contact with him, this guy runs and disappears if he’s confronted.
This is the picture I have, and the incident number from the report I took. 16-93769

UPDATE AS OF 3/18/16:
Scott Marr is a registered sex offender with the charge of indecent exposure with sexual motivation. I found him through the PUBLIC sex offender registry. I have sent the registry an official tip as well as updated the police and my incident report. He is known by other baristas in the area of pioneer square. AT THIS POINT he needs to be caught in the act in order to get him off the streets and to protect unknowing victims. IF YOU SEE HIM FILMING, get any kind of evidence you can and then have someone call the police! They can not arrest him without actual evidence! I am not asking for and do not condone in anyway for the public to attack, harm or trap him, I just want the public to know who he is and what he does so he can be properly caught red handed and lawfully taken of the streets. I want this to end so I can feel safe going to work, I want this to end so I can start to feel like myself again. I don’t want to jump every time someone walks from behind me or when I hear loud noises. I don’t want to have flashbacks anymore, I want to feel comfortable making eye contact and I want to heal.

Mentally, I know I have a rough road ahead of me, but I know that if I see this being shared I can have hope that this man will finally get caught before he does something worse and hurts anyone again mentally, emotionally or physically.

Thank you,
Danielle Shepherd
Survivor.

To say that this situation outrages me is putting it mildly. Just by virtue of being a woman, and then adding to that the fact that I am a woman who has experienced sexual abuse, I wanted to grab the nearest pitchfork and torch and set forth to dispatch this sick man. I wanted to solve this problem in a way that is very contrary to my peaceful nature. To wit: I wanted to chop off his phallus and stuff it in his breakfast burrito.

Wow. That was easy. I went from rational human being to Trump-like vigilante in one short step. Fortunately I didn’t have an equally insane crowd surrounding me, egging me on, so my cooler head prevailed in the end. Rather than impaling this pervert on the tines of a pitchfork that I don’t, in fact, own, I simply shared this post on my Facebook page, but also encouraged people to compile evidence of this man’s activities and turn that over to the police, rather than taking justice into their own hands.

And now, of course, I’m also blogging about it. Take that, you disgusting tiny little fraction of a man!

1935833_10208934133368263_3543073031608593461_n

1927864_10208948329723163_5482743622574236420_n10646729_10208934133488266_8893544495781513473_n

9 thoughts on “Crossing the Line

  1. Angiportus

    Hurray for keeping a cool head and still finding a way to nail a creep. At least you don’t have to hose off a pitchfork–let alone touch, well, never mind.
    I wonder how much privacy anyone has any more. All these devices and so on.

      1. lyn sutton

        Perverts don’t need modern technology to violate us. Trench coats…I’ve been flashed on three separate occasions…twice in broad daylight. Mirrors…I’ve had guys try to look up my skirt with mirrors. And then there’s that crowded subway or bus…use your imagination. I don’t know what hurts more…the fact it happens or that society isn’t enraged by sexual violations unless they are brutal rapes by strangers.

      2. What hurts most for me is that it’s such a huge part of female life, and yet it’s barely discussed.
        Have to say, though, the only time I was trench-coated was back in the 90’s in the parking lot at work. I pointed at him and laughed and kept walking, and he ran away in a huff.

Leave a Reply

