Those Popcorn Moments

I was talking to a friend the other day and she said that as a single mother money was always tight, so she didn’t get to travel. Even though she didn’t really consider it a major regret, that kind of made me feel guilty because I’ve been to 22 countries. It’s been a while since I was able to afford to even buy a plane ticket, but I want to get back to that point eventually. I live in hope.

I never had kids. I’ve never even had cable TV or a smart phone, so it’s all about priorities. If you want something badly enough, you’ll make sacrifices and you’ll work toward it. You may or may not be successful in reaching your goals, but you’ll make the effort. Child rearing was not an effort I was willing to make, but I admire anyone who happily takes on that responsibility.

Another friend said she didn’t regret not being able to travel because she got just as much pleasure from sitting on the couch with her daughter, eating a bowl of popcorn and watching a movie. I think that’s a wonderful attitude. You should make the most of what you have, and have a clear sense of what makes you happy.

Make plans, sure, but make your popcorn wherever you happen to be sitting in life. Don’t wait. Because when all is said and done, you shouldn’t deprive yourself of those popcorn moments. They count for a lot.

Popcorn

Leave a Reply

