Help Me Map Out My Walk Down Memory Lane

Hi everyone! I really could use your help. I’m going to be doing several anthologies of my blog entries, and I need your opinion.

My blog is a bit eclectic. In general, it’s about stuff I think about while sitting up here on my drawbridge. So I’ve been going through old posts and trying to identify various themes that I seem to revisit, and determine which ones are my favorites.

The funny thing about revisiting past writings is that it feels similar to going through old photo albums (remember those?), or school yearbooks. The memories come flooding back and then you look up to find that hours have gone by. Re-reading these posts from years ago feels like going to a high school reunion, only without dreading some of the people you’re going to run into.

What you see below are 10 blog posts from 2012 and 2013 that I think have anthology potential. What I need to know are your thoughts on the subject. Which do you like best? What themes do you enjoy most? Are there any other posts of mine that are your favorites? Is there anything else I should be asking you that I’m overlooking?

Anyone kind enough to voice their opinion will be gratefully acknowledged in one of my anthologies, unless you prefer to remain anonymous. But please know that your insights really matter to me. I write for you!

I seem to write a lot about my insights about nature. Here’s one called A Rare Gift from a Dolphin.

Here’s an example of one of the many things I’ve written about having a sense of myself. Learning about who I am. It’s called Coming full Spiral.

Another one like that is Lightning Strikes and Other Unforeseen Events.

I also love to write about obscure things that may not have crossed your mind, and/or things that most people haven’t heard about. Here’s one called Cool Stuff You Never Knew about your Teeth.

Other times I go for the humor, as in How to Give HORRIBLE Customer Service.

Sometimes I write about travel experiences, such as Reliving the Battle of Olustee.

I like to write about trying to make a difference in one way or another, such as in The Immigration Issue in Reverse.

And I also tend to wax nostalgic, like in Those Moments.

Naturally, I have a lot of drawbridge stories to tell! When in Doubt, Blame the Bridgetender.

And I have plenty of time to come up with quirky insights and wonder about things. Where Are YOU Located?

I really hope I hear from you! Thanks in advance!

never-forget-where-you-came-from-its-what-made-you-the-person-you-are-today-quote-1

20 thoughts on “Help Me Map Out My Walk Down Memory Lane

  1. I think the Bridgetender moments are what give structure to the narrative and provide you a unique voice/platform. They engage the reader in who you are as a person so that they then care about your opinions and humor. I would think a good sequence would be those done chronologically, with a selection of musings, humor, observation interspersed – very similar to reading your blog, only done intentionally. You have such a wealth of good material that you could easily get several anthologies out of it – and structuring the narrative sequentially will also make the readers want to know what happened next.
    As great as all your posts are I think if they are just collected thematically they will get a bit redundant – or just attract readers who are interested in a single theme.

    I’m curious how you picked these posts above – are they your most popular posts or your own personal favorites?

    1. Wow, these are some great insights, Liz. I’ll definitely be discussing this with my editor on Monday.
      The way I picked these is that I went back and read every single blog entry for 2012 and 2013, and then listed all the ones that I really liked, which narrowed it down to about 120, and that kind of overwhelmed me, so I picked about 10 that jumped out and were of different themes. I skipped the most popular ones because I figured that would be preaching to the choir. I’ll be doing the same thing for 2014 and 2015.

      1. sounds like a great plan. My perspective may be influenced by the way I’m reading your blog – starting at the beginning and reading through chronologically. I’m 100 posts in. I can’t believe that you have written every day for years – and that each of your posts is so well done. You’re in a great position to have so much to choose from that you’re overwhelmed! 🙂

  2. Oh I should add – the ones about your family and childhood are essential. They’re moving, funny, insightful and make a deep connection. Besides, the world deserves to know your mom.

  3. Juan Carlos García Romero

    Me parece muy interesante el desarrollo de la antología,. Aunado a ello, es importante enfatizar que los diversos temas que abordaste fueron elaborados a través del tiempo especificando los años o el año (2012 – 2013) cada uno de ellos fueron escritos bajo situaciones especiales que te motivaron a reflexionar, evidenciar las situaciones de la vida cotidiana o situaciones especiales desde las alturas de LA VISTA DEL PUENTE LEVADIZO. cada uno de los títulos lleva en esencia una parte de ti. Tu enfoque, sentimientos, emociones.
    Muchas felicidades va a salir muy bien todo. Esta decretado un gran abrazo virtual.

    1. Gracias Charlie ! Es casi como si el tiempo mismo es como la altura de un puente . Puedo mirar hacia atrás en todas estas cosas desde una distancia y ver de manera diferente. Fascinante. Estoy en espera de estas antologías , y se mencionará tu nombre!

      1. Juan Carlos García Romero

        Tener diferentes perspectivas de algo es lo que lo hace más interesante, bendiciones mi estimada Barb. Todo esfuerzo tiene resultados. Felicidades.

  4. Carole Lewus

    I know many of your blogs started with I Love NPR, The station has given you fodder for many articles, and bought you full circle back to praising them once again. You honor them each time you put your own light on something you heard on the radio, and them Not knowing this they spot lighted YOU. Perhaps revisiting those post will enlighten the rest of your fans. And of course my favorite, The Cigarette Girl”.

  5. lyn sutton

    Already gave my choice for your anthologies in your first posted request but didn’t single out a favorite entry because there are so many great ones to choose from, (No wonder you are having trouble choosing) but this one is at the top of my list … How to Give HORRIBLE Customer Service. It embodied my exact experience with that company as well as with health care and health insurance customer service.
    You capture and reflect life’s frustrating and painful moments as well as uplifting ones in a variety of ways, all of which enlighten and provoke one to taste other perspectives. I think those eclectic themes and narratives enable you to reach and touch more people because you stay true to who you are…which is a very open minded, generous, multifaceted treasure.

Leave a Reply

