My Fry

There has been much ado about vocal fry of late. If you’ve been hiding under a rock somewhere and don’t know what that is, it’s the quaver or creaky/growly sound some people have in their voices. It’s usually attributed to college-aged females, but I hear it in plenty of males, too.

It seems that a lot of people find it annoying. I never have. It’s just another voice quality to me. Some languages have a click sound. Some accents have a glottal stop (which I just love). Some people have vocal fry. Big deal. Sometimes it even sounds sexy, in my opinion, depending on the situation. But once you focus on it, you hear it everywhere.

I genuinely believe that no one employs vocal fry on purpose. I suspect most people don’t even realize they sound this way. I can attest to that. Recently, I was featured on NPR’s Morning Edition, and the first time I listened to the interview I realized that I have vocal fry. It comes, it goes, but it’s definitely there.

You have to understand what a revelation this was for me. I’m 51 years old, and this fact had escaped me all these years. Imagine that. Needless to say, I’ve been hearing myself natter on about things for decades. How could I have missed this? It’s like suddenly discovering you’re a Martian after walking the earth for your whole life.

So, hi, I’m Barb, and I’m a fry-aholic.

Now, if you really want to be irritating, do that baby talk thing. That, you can control.

Fries

10 thoughts on “My Fry

  1. Angiportus

    …Or that sad, whiny monotone that sounds like the person using it is about to cry, whatever they are talking about. Drives me up the proverbial wall.
    I thought “My Fry” was going to be about a recipe…

  2. lyn sutton

    You have to love that glo’al stop. (Not sure how to type the absence of a sound.)

    Your “fry” sounds natural…maybe do a vlog or podcast so we can hear more of it? I think it’s when it’s forced or exaggerated, as some seem to be doing, that it becomes annoying. It’s usually sexiest in singing … https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=yb2HR47npEU … like this guys growl and how deep it gets at 4:10. Song gives goosebumps. I get head tremors, on and off, but so far no quaver in my voice except when I sing. Then it’s just an annoying quiver, not a sexy growl. 🙂

      1. lyn sutton

        An overdone fry…could be they’re just bad cooks.

        I put up with my mothers tone deaf rendition of “You are my sunshine”… don’t think you could do worse. Imagine Yoko Ono as a cat in heat.

  3. lyn sutton

    Not yet. What category is it under?
    I’ve noticed other things we have in common but don’t always comment because it just seems like I’m just parroting you.

  4. Pingback: My New Specs – The View from a Drawbridge

Leave a Reply

