The Last Word

Now that I’m planning to do some anthologies out of my blog posts, I’ve been going back and revisiting all of them to pick out favorites and identify common themes. What I didn’t expect is how much I’d also enjoy reading everyone’s comments. I feel as though we’ve built up a nice little community here, and although I haven’t met many of you face to face, I think I’ve made quite a few friends.

Some of you comment quite a bit. (Carole! Anju! Where have you been? I miss you!) Others only chime in when I’ve written something that really strikes a chord with them, and I appreciate their insights as well.

But one guy has been with me from the very beginning. Pouringmyartout has an amazing blog of his own. I highly encourage you to check it out. I honestly don’t know how he finds the time to touch base every single day, especially since I neglect his blog terribly. Most people can only count on death and taxes. I can also count on Art and his pithy commentary. Sometimes we get on this bantering roll and it’s quite hysterical.

Because of that I’ve decided to do a little social experiment. You see, I happen to know Art’s kryptonite. He absolutely, positively HAS to have the last word. If I respond to one of his comments, he’s compelled to respond again. I guarantee you that you won’t find a single instance in which he hasn’t had the last word in my comment section. That doesn’t bother me because he happens to be a delight. But what will happen if I keep responding to his responses?

Fasten your seatbelts, readers, because this could go on for years. And feel free to participate, or at the very least, check back in every once in a while. I suspect this is going to be a lot of fun.

Art
“Hi! I’m Art!”

80 thoughts on “The Last Word

  1. Art may end up with the last word – but I’m getting the first word. I’ve also been enjoying going back and reading your early blog posts. It’s fascinating to see your life change and develop and to watch you grow and develop. I think the anthology is a great idea and people are really going to enjoy it. I don’t know if you can still remember what mindset you had when you started the blog or what goals you had in mind for doing it, but I have to assume that you never could have anticipated being on NPR and in O Magazine! Quite a ride – and well-deserved.

  2. uh… this is why I have that one blog post with 44,332 comments on it… because at least half of those are mine… because I answer every single comment… until they give up or die of old age… or have to do their taxes…

      1. well we all know that isn’t going to happen… but we should do the same thing on my post setting the record for comments… ha… go leave a comment…

  3. lyn sutton

    Watching from the sidelines but not sure of the rules. Is there a time limit between replies…and what constitutes a legitimate comment? Can he just put punctuation marks, emoji’s or repeat himself a lot? I think the comments should have some substance to them. I mean… he is a writer after all… 🙂

      1. lyn sutton

        And if he dies in the midst of this competition he will probably have his last word chiseled on his headstone. 🙂

        I see he deflected the ‘Do you go nuts’ question by going on the attack, but Barb, the less experienced in this sport, had the perfect come back. Can she continue to hold her own against such a heavy weight, experienced contender?
        And the competition is heating up folks… and getting personal.

    1. lyn sutton

      Left the r out because my eyes have seen too much to be chaste but not enough to be fithy. Vigin eyes. 🙂

Leave a Reply

