What’s Important

I just gave my new dog Quagmire a stuffed squeaky toy, and for about a half hour, his life was complete. He ran around the house squeaking it at random, shaking it within an inch of its life and covering it with slobber. Then he ruthlessly ripped its little head off and coated the bed in stuffing. I don’t think he’s ever known such joy.

For a brief shining moment, nothing else mattered to Quagmire. I suspect I could have waved a rare steak under his nose and he wouldn’t have noticed. He was in the zone. Pure bliss.

If someone were to give me a stuffy, I wouldn’t reach such heights of ecstasy. But there are other things that do it for me. (That steak wouldn’t hurt.)

It’s kind of fascinating that each one of us has a different source of joy. It’s also probably the only reason our society can maintain itself. If there were only one thing that made all of us happy, we’d soon be fighting over that thing, and none of us would be able to enjoy it.

So seek out your equivalent of a stuffy, and shake it silly! And don’t let anyone make you feel silly for doing so! Do your thing.

The fact that we’re each unique is the best possible thing that could have happened to us. It sort of makes you wonder why we are so hellbent on discriminating against others for their differences. Thank God for the differences, I say! That way I can have my stuffy all to myself!

IMG_1425
Welcome to Quagmire heaven!

 

10 thoughts on “What’s Important

  1. deborahsaksimet

    Yay….. On Jun 1, 2016 12:01 AM, “The View from a Drawbridge” wrote:

    > The View from a Drawbridge posted: “I just gave my new dog Quagmire a > stuffed squeaky toy, and for about a half hour, his life was complete. He > ran around the house squeaking it at random, shaking it within an inch of > its life and covering it with slobber. Then he ruthlessly ripped its litt” >

  2. lyn sutton

    Sounds like one of your joys is facilitating and watching others experience joy. That’s what I love most about being a mother…the numerous opportunities to share in their uniquely different forms of joy, especially when I’ve had a hand in it. Your children are fortunate to have such an attentive mother.

      1. lyn sutton

        That comes across in your posts. I don’t see them as your pets. They are as much your children as my human ones are mine only I suspect they listen to you better than mine do.

Leave a Reply

