Thoughts on Gratitude

I’ve been thinking about gratitude quite a bit lately. In fact, it’s going to be the subject of my first anthology. As a topic it’s much more complex and richly nuanced than I first thought.

I’m finding that the more I view my life in terms of gratitude, the more blessings I seem to receive. There’s something about the mere act of sincerely acknowledging the abundance in your life, putting it out there in the universe that you realize that these things are gifts, not privileges. This seems to attract even more abundance.

The more pragmatic side of me thinks that it’s not actually that you’re getting more positivity. It’s more that you’re becoming attuned to the largesse that was always there. Perhaps you have just taken it for granted, or have been focused on the more negative aspects of your life.

Crunchy granola gifts or clear-eyed perspective? Either way, I’ll take it! Thank you. More, please.

While discussing this with friends, I was asked, “Can gratitude ever be inappropriate?” That question intrigued me quite a bit. I suspect that gratitude in general is very influenced by the culture in which you find yourself. People in some countries just seem to be much more instinctively gracious than those in others.

Is one viewpoint better than another? The fact that we have coined terms such as “obsequious”, with its seemingly negative connotations, would lead one to believe that there is such a thing as too much gratitude.

I tend to think that any gratitude, if sincere and genuine, is not misplaced. But who am I to judge? I’m just happy to be here!

gratitude

2 thoughts on “Thoughts on Gratitude

  1. Bridgetender, my favorite Bridgetender. This is a wonderful piece that I trust will also be in your anthology? The times I have had the most reason to be upset, disappointed, and rejected, have also been the times where my “gratitude practice” has made all the difference. Thank you for the reminder that gratitude as an early response to anything is healing. It does take tremendous awareness and personal fortitude to do this on the hardest days we are expected to handle too. And the secret is that we will remember and we will forget… (paraphrasing Rumi for this gorgeous insight.)

Leave a Reply

