My Latest Story–Wrong Can Be Right

I went to my monthly storytelling event while still in a delighted daze about all the amazing things that have been going on in my life, in terms of the StoryCorps anthology and the anthologies that I’m planning to publish myself, so naturally that’s what I wanted to talk about, even though tooting my own horn does not come naturally to me.  

But it was a tricky month for horn tooting, because the theme for this month’s event was “Mistakes–Stories of Getting it Wrong.” So I had to be a little creative. Let me know how you think I did. Here’s the recording of my story on Sound Cloud, and if you are unable to get audio or don’t want to hear the dulcet tones of my voice, below that I’ll post the text I practiced with for weeks prior to the event. I think I stayed pretty faithful to it this time.

I truly believe that if there’s a lesson you’re supposed to be learning but you aren’t, then the universe will throw it at you over and over and over again until it finally sinks in. One of those lessons, for me, seems to be that despite my best efforts, life just isn’t going to be predictable.

I’m a Capricorn through and through. I like everything to be foreseeable and expected. I like all my triangles to be equilateral and my t’s to be crossed and my I’s dotted. And my ducks better behave themselves and stay in a nice little row.

But if they don’t, what will I do? What can I do? Nothing. Because life just isn’t going to be predictable. I don’t know why that always takes me by surprise. I think my life has taken an unusually high number of 90 degree turns simply because I’m supposed to be learning that lesson.

“You think you can have it all under control? Well, buckle up baby. Here we come!”

I have to say, though, that recently I’ve been enjoying this lesson a heck of a lot. It started when I got a phone call from  StoryCorps asking if I remembered that interview I did for them back in 2009 about how much I loved being a bridgetender.

“Yes…”

“Well, we want to include it in our next book.”

So here I am, on page 17. They even spelled my name right!

But oh, that’s not all. Of course they want to promote this book, so they asked if it would be all right if they played part of my interview on National Public Radio’s Morning edition.

Heck yeah!

So now you can hear it on the NPR Website and the StoryCorps website. And because of that, overnight, visitors to my daily blog, the View from a Drawbridge, tripled in number.

Hooooo… so now things will die down and become nice and predictable again, right?

Noooooooo! Next, I was featured in Parade Magazine, which has a readership of 54 million.

And then a friend went to one of the book signings in Austin, Texas, and of the 53 people in this book, Dave Isay, the founder of StoryCorps, mentions my story specifically. What???

So now, when I google my name, I get almost 4,000 results.

Even so, I wasn’t expecting the next phone call, from a senior editor of O Magazine. Yup. I’m going to be in the September issue. Are you freakin’ KIDDING ME? Oprah Winfrey is going to know my name for about two seconds! How cool is that?

I cannot believe this is happening to me. I’m so excited! I’ll ride this wave as long as I can, even though sometimes it can be a little bit exhausting.

But I’m now working with the AMAZING Deborah Drake to start publishing a series of anthologies based on my blog.

Predictable life? Pfft. Little did I know.

.

 

7 thoughts on “My Latest Story–Wrong Can Be Right

  1. Bless you for your commitment to embracing the adventure of living on the edge and saying yes to the new. This project is a labor of love for each of us. And as fate would have it that night, I arrived just a little too late to hear this live but at 7am over coffee, it is a beautiful start to my day of wordsmithing the wonderful words on my plate today. Isn’t life awesome and challenging and hasn’t it got a funny sense of humor too? The Universe doesn’t want us to play small (as the cliche goes). We all push back on that notion from time to time. It’s wonderful to surrender and be willing. Then comes that rush of aliveness that takes the breath away…:)

  2. I’m so excited for you! I’ll be looking for that article in the Sept issue!!! I found you through StoryCorps. My life has also been a series of ninety degree turns – love how you put that, see that is why you are about to be an author! – and after several of those, things can get confusing. Asking for help, I just discovered the amazing “work” tag on the StoryCorps website, which brings up a list of moving stories about people who love their jobs. Of course each one I listened to including yours moved me to tears (this is what StoryCorps does!). Your authenticity and love for what you do really comes through. It is always so inspiring, uplifting, and such a joy to discover someone that truly loves what they do. I’m so happy you have a blog, and so excited to read it. Thank you for putting your story out there. I really needed to hear it.

    1. Thank you so much! Progress on my first anthology in the A Bridgetender’s View series is moving right along. We’re hoping to have it out at the same time the O Magazine issue hits the stands. As a matter of fact, 10 percent of any profits are going to be given to StoryCorps, since they set this whole ball rolling for me. Welcome to my blog, and look forward to hearing more from you!

  3. Pingback: Leggo My Ego – The View from a Drawbridge

Leave a Reply

