I Am Not Who I Was Yesterday

It’s been an eventful week. I won’t bore you with the details. Suffice it to say that it has served to remind me that we are all the sum total of our unique life experiences. That being the case, since we experience life every single day, that means that we are each slightly different than we were the day before.  The onion has another layer. What a concept.

 I find this idea rather comforting. To me, it means that with each new day comes another opportunity to get things right. It allows me to look at the world with fresh eyes, and make new choices. If there’s something about myself that I want to change, I can tackle that thing from a slightly different trajectory.  If there’s something I want to strengthen or reinforce, here’s another chance to do so.

Each day we burst forth from our chrysalis and spread our wings as a brand new butterfly. As my late boyfriend used to say, “You have been given a perfectly good day. What are you going to do with it?” That saying is even more poignant now that he is gone.

 Never take your fresh starts for granted, people. Each and every one is precious.

Butterfly

5 thoughts on “I Am Not Who I Was Yesterday

  1. I don’t know if I ever shared with you my tattoo. It says “begin again” and I have it written on the inner side of my left wrist. I got it for this exact reason. To be a reminder that in every moment we have the opportunity to begin again a new. Loving your posts. They’re giving me the encouragement I need. xoxo

  2. lyn sutton

    “You have been given a perfectly good day. What are you going to do with it?” Read Barb’s newest post and be inspired all over again.

  3. Pingback: Creative Expressions of Grief – The View from a Drawbridge

Leave a Reply

