What Love Looks Like

I just had the most amazing few days. Saturday I went to Pridefest Capitol Hill, and Sunday I went to the Seattle Pride Parade. It was my first time attending these annual events, but it definitely won’t be my last.

What delighted me about this spectacular spectacle was that it made this big city feel like a small town. For a few beautiful days, everyone seemed to know and love everyone. We could all be wonderfully different, each from the other, and that was not only acceptable, but it was expected and encouraged. I’ve never been hugged by so many total strangers in my life.

It felt like a space where no one was judging, criticizing or fearing. It was a wide open, all-embracing lovefest of humanity. And, yes, it made me proud. It made me feel as though there is hope for us after all.

I’ll leave you with some of my most colorful pictures, most of which are from the 2 1/2 hour long parade. If they make you feel even 1/10th as happy to be alive as I do right now, then my work here is done. Happy Pride!

5 thoughts on “What Love Looks Like

  1. sarah mercier

    I’m so glad u got to go and got to see and feel the amazing energy of pride. One of My most favorite times of the year!

  2. Pingback: What Hate Looks Like – The View from a Drawbridge

Leave a Reply

