What Hate Looks Like

 

It really breaks my heart to have to write this blog entry after the high of yesterday’s entry about Seattle Pride. Unfortunately every light seems to have its shadow. The brightest lights seem to cast even darker ones.

So, two things. First, at the Pride events I attended, I would occasionally come across religious zealots shouting hate speech over microphones and carrying signs such as these:

My immediate thought was that Jesus would be so ashamed to have these people using his name in this way. He was not about hate and exclusion. He was not about judgment and condemnation. His fundamental message was love.

One of them even shouted at me, “Repent your sins and gain eternal life!”

Ignorance abounds. My response to him was, “I don’t want to have eternal life if it means I have to spend it with people like you.”

These people don’t come to events such as these to “save” people. I guarantee you that not one person in the crowd was running up to them and saying, “Why didn’t I see this before? I have been wrong all along! Thank you!”

No, they were there because they get a sick and twisted high off of trying to ruin things for everyone else. They get off on imagining that they are the only ones who are “right” and they don’t care who they hurt to get that feeling. If there is a hell, and  anyone is going to it, it’s people like these.

The second, and most horrifying thing is that a transgender person, Michael Volz, was attacked in Seattle this week after attending a fundraiser for the survivors of the Orlando shooting. Michael was walking down the street, causing no harm to anyone,  when someone said “Happy Pride!” and then beat them half to death. I don’t understand. I will never understand.

Please join me in contributing to the GoFundMe campaign to help Michael through this. Let’s show the world that not all of us are despicable. In the end, love will win.

On that note, if you’ve never seen the video below, take a minute to watch it now. It will restore your faith. I’ve been watching it about once a day since I discovered it.

11 thoughts on “What Hate Looks Like

  1. Sam

    Hi Barb: I agree that there is too much hate and anger in this world. In a city like New York, that claims to be liberal and open-minded, I have seen and experienced a great deal of hate and prejudice. I could write on and on about all the negative comments I’ve heard from people about my Puerto Rican ancestry (“You’re too white.” “You seem too educated to be Puerto Rican.” “Are BOTH your parents white?”). Someone even asked me how I learned to speak English so well. And these comments came at me….not in the OLD SOUTH, but in NEW YORK CITY. I agree with you that Jesus didn’t promote hate, but instead encouraged love and understanding. I am a Christian and don’t believe that people should stand on street corners reminding people that they are gong to hell. I’ve never read in the Bible that we should attack and hate sinners. On the contrary, the Bible says we should talk to them, try to understand them, and pray for them. The incident that you mentioned in Seattle (the beating of an innocent man) is all too common in New York. There is a shuttered Barnes and Noble store near my apt. were a man was shot and killed a few years ago, for the same reason. And all he was doing was walking down the street. I know this is a minor note, but….the grocery store I go to is a place where there is a lot of anger and hate. If you dare to ask a manager a question, they respond to you with so much anger and disgust that you would think you were their greatest enemy. I once told a manager, “I don’t understand all the anger. I just asked you a question.” An angry grocery store manager is no big deal in the great scheme of things…but, this situation reminds me of all the anger and hate that has yet to be resolved in our world. Thanks for a great post, Barb. Sam 6/28/16 NYC

    1. In big cities, it seems like you get more diversity, more liberalism, but at the same time, more impatience and hate and misunderstanding, or at least enough anonymity to think you can get away with such behavior. It really is a shame. And Puerto Rico seems to be one of the more confusing grey areas for the ignorant. When I told people I was visiting a while back, so many of them thought it was a foreign country. I was astounded. I hope you watched that Maya Angelou video at the bottom of this post, Sam. It will make you feel more hopeful.

  2. Angiportus

    Thanks, Barb, for using the right pronoun for Volz. I am sickened too. I thought they were an agender or metagender, but not sure. Anyway, agree that this need for a scapegoat is an infection in the community. Seems to me people who are at home in the world, or in themselves, or something, don’t need to blame their problems on some group of people. Blame nature for making us all so half-there, and work on fixing it.
    Sam, I hope you find a store where the people are nicer.

    1. I think that anyone, ANYONE, who believes it’s okay to raise their hands in violence to anyone, is a boil on the butt of humanity and needs to be removed. The arrogance. It’s a societal cancer and sickness, and I hope we find a cure soon.

Leave a Reply

