Too Peopley

Apologies in advance. I’m in a mood. I’ve probably snapped out of it by the time you read this, as I generally write my entries several days ahead of time.

There’s a reason I’m a bridgetender. I thrive on the isolation. I like working independently. I also live alone, unless you count my dogs, and that’s by design. I don’t get people. People often don’t get me. My dogs are my best friends.

I’m sure it doesn’t help that I have no filter. If I think it, I tend to say it. Sometimes that’s perceived as tactless. That’s truly never my intent, but there you have it.

To say I’m an introvert is putting it mildly. People suck the life out of me as a general rule. I can only take them in small doses. After a while I feel the need to go off and hibernate somewhere.

I have this core belief (stemming from a very damaged childhood) that most people think I’m weird and therefore cannot possibly like me. From an adult perspective I know that’s not rational, and I’m sure all my friends will be horrified to read it, but there it is: my soft underbelly.

I only write this because if I feel this way, I’m sure others do, too. And if you are one of those others, I’d like you to know that you’re not alone (even though half the time you probably prefer to be). I’m right there, too, and yet the vast majority of the time I’m actually a fully functional human being. Go figure.

peopley

4 thoughts on “Too Peopley

  1. kramer

    Well, I’m here to tell you that you are not alone either! There are many of us out there. Couldn’t have said it better myself!!

  2. Angiportus

    Likewise. Sometimes I am okay with a bunch of people but it kind of has to be on my terms, I mean, a finite amount of time, I get a chance to talk which I will try not to monopolize, and I can bail if I absolutely have to, Except that I have a few friends I like to spend a lot of time with. So sometimes people suck the life out of me and sometimes they feed it back in. But I am more of a things-and-ideas person than a people person, or even an animal fan, and my friends are those who have the sense to not give me crap about that.
    I too had a very damaged childhood and adolescence, but that isn’t why I’m an introvert with a lot of unusual interests–that’s just how I am wired.

Leave a Reply

