First Things First

I take pride in having my sh*t together, but if I’m honest, I haven’t really had it together in quite some time. I’m not quite sure when I lost all sense of organization, but it was, oh…decades ago? Because of that, when the occasional crisis happens, as they do, I tend to feel extremely overwhelmed.

So when my niece’s husband broke his neck and I started a GoFundMe Campaign for him, for about a week there I was bouncing around like a pinball. A lot of things got neglected. Oh, the dogs were fed, and so was I, and I remembered to put on clean undies, but pretty much everything else fell by the wayside.

I wasn’t returning phone calls or responding to e-mails, which made me feel guilty. I HATE it when people do that to me, after all. And I had to wash the same load of laundry three times because I’d keep forgetting to take it out of the washer and by the time I remembered, the clothes did not smell at all good. My already piss-poor diet got even pissier and poorer.

And the deadline for publishing my anthology is rapidly approaching. And my bills need to be paid. And I have promises to keep, and miles to go… yadda yadda.

I now understand why squirrels will freeze in the middle of the road when a car is bearing down on them. There are so many things that need doing at that moment that you just don’t know where to begin.

But then a friend reminded me: first things first. Rather than try to look at and do everything at once, sometimes you have to focus on one thing at a time. What is most mission-critical?

That’s easy. Family. Always. Every single time. So I focused on the fundraiser, and let the laundry worry about itself. And lo and behold, the world kept revolving around the sun.

ThingOne

8 thoughts on “First Things First

      1. lyn sutton

        I’m all for this form of Bascule Day… Bascule: a French term for seesaw and balance. That sounds like fun, but not a fan of this type…. Bascule: a form of torture where the victim is bound to a seesaw-like device with the buttocks outward, and repeatedly lifted and dropped. Which definition did you have in mind to celebrate? 🙂

      1. lyn sutton

        With great power comes… and few are cut out for that kind of responsibility. I think he was drinking from boredom. That bridge gets little traffic these days. Couldn’t they have filled the time by writing a blog instead of hitting the grog? 🙂 Imagine how bored the current bridge-tender is. It’s been left in the raised position for 3 years.

Leave a Reply

